Why USA called United States?

by | History |

Why USA called United States?

The United States of America is a country composed of 50 states and a federal district. It has five major self-governing territories and various possessions. With a population of over 325 million people, the U.S. is the third most populous country.

The capital is Washington, D.C., and the largest city by population in New York City.

The U.S. territories are scattered about the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, stretching across nine official time zones. The extremely diverse geography, climate, and wildlife of the United States make it one of the world's 17 megadiverse countries.

The first country to develop nuclear weapons.

Benjamin Franklin used the name United Colonies of North America around the time of the war for independence from Britain in seventeen seventy-five. But another name appeared on the Declaration of Independence that was approved on July fourth, 1776. The declaration used the name United States of America.

Richard Henry Lee of Virginia made the proposal in the Congress on June seventh, seventeen-seventy-six, to declare that the United Colonies should be free and independent states.

This proposal led to the creation of three committees to write three important documents. One wrote a Declaration of Independence. Another wrote Articles of Confederation. The third wrote a treaty plan. All three groups worked together and used the name United States of America.


Paleo-Indians migrated from Siberia to the North American mainland at least 15,000 years ago. European colonization began in the 16th century. The United States emerged from the thirteen British colonies established along the East Coast.

Numerous disputes between Great Britain and the colonies following the French and Indian War led to the American Revolution, which began in 1775, and the subsequent Declaration of Independence in 1776.

The war ended in 1783 with the United States becoming the first country to gain independence from a European power. The current constitution was adopted in 1788, with the first ten amendments, collectively named the Bill of Rights, were ratified in 1791 to guarantee many fundamental civil liberties.

The United States of America

So, why it is called the USA?

In modern English, North and South America are generally considered separate continents, and taken together are called the Americas in the plural, parallel to similar situations such as the Carolinas. When conceived as a unitary continent, the form is generally the continent of America in the singular. However, without a clarifying context, singular America in English commonly refers to the United States of America. The earliest known use of the name America dates to April 25, 1507, where it was applied to what is now known as South America.

America occurred shortly after Christopher Columbus's voyage to the Americas in 1492. It is generally accepted that the name derives from Amerigo Vespucci, the Italian explorer, who explored the new continents in the following years. However, some have suggested other explanations, including being named after a mountain range in Nicaragua, or after Richard Amerike of Bristol.

The 13 colonies, after being made independent from Britain, were indeed states in the original sense of the word. They were essentially 13 independent little countries. Under the Articles of Confederation, these 13 states retained so much independence that the term “states” still applied.

But there were problems: 13 different currencies, 13 different monetary systems, 13 different systems of weights and measures, and chaos in the area of interstate commerce, where everyone claimed the authority to tax everyone else. That’s why the Articles of Confederation proved inadequate.


In addition, there were some, such as Alexander Hamilton, who believed in the need for a large standing army that only a national/federal government could afford to properly equip and supply. To achieve this, the 13 states needed to come together.


When the colonies decided to declare their independence they became 'states", or independent, sovereign (self-ruling) entities. The "united" comes from the fact that these new states united under a federation (collection of states ruled by a strong central government), thus becoming "United States". The ending "of America" was chosen since these new united states were located in America, the popular name for the New World.